Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal article databases
The following databases are generally the most useful for Arts & Creative Industries. See also the lists under individual subject tabs.
Comprises full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering
ANTE is an abstracting and indexing database. Subject areas covered
include new technologies, engineering and allied subject areas. Sources include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books, together with indexing for more than 780 journals, magazines and trade publications, and over 230 books. The database also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and a collection of over 63,000 images. Subjects include antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
Architectural Publications Index
The index covers architecture and related subjects and is produced by RIBA. It indexes international journal articles, technical reports, books and exhibition catalogues.
Search hints: Architectural publications index is located within the RIBA online catalogue. Before searching, scroll down to Collections and change this from ALL to ARTICLES.
ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting database covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. It provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Gale Academic OneFile Select
This database covers research in all academic disciplines, combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers.
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
Web of Science
The Web of Science Service for UK Education provides a single route to all the Clarivate Analytics products subscribed to by your institution. Connect to the Web of Science Service, search using the 'All Database search' or select an individual product from the drop down list.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection covers disciplines such as economics, history, and Asian studies,archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies.
Please see this webpage for details.
Search or browse to locate a title.
JSTOR Language & Literature
The Languages & Literature collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian, and German.
Music Collection contains the complete back runs of 33 titles dedicated to scholarly research and theory in the field of music. The collection includes journals published in the Netherlands, Croatia, Hungary, Germany, and France.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management.
The database contains details of approximately 20,000 current journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year. With almost 15 million article and conference records, the database covers every imaginable subject in science, technology, medicine, engineering, business, law, finance.
A huge worldwide online business and news service. Can be searched very simply, or can offer complex construction of search queries.
Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.
The password system for this database has changed. The first time you log in, you will be asked to register.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1901-2005, is a detailed primary source for 20th century Britain and the wider world. The papers are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
JSTOR 19th Century Pamphlets
The digitized collection of more than 26,000 pamphlets from seven UK research libraries provides researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th-century Britain.
Vision of Britain through Time
A Vision of Britain Through Time website gives access to over two centuries worth of facts, figures, surveys, maps, election results and travel writing showing how 15,000 UK places have changed.
Box of Broadcasts IMPORTANT: How to access your saved programmes
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is an innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. It contains over a million items, including an archive of all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007.
BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any scheduled broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. You can also edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into Moodle, share items via social media and generate reference citations.
Please note that our BoB licence is for educational purposes only, and only for use within the UK.
Windows 7 users, please note that Internet Explorer is no longer supported.
British Library Sounds
The British Library's Archival Sound Recordings website gives UK Higher and Further Education staff and students free access to over 12,000 recordings in a variety of subjects.
Arts on Film Archive
Arts on Film Archive offers online access to a large range of films on art produced in the UK since the 1950s, and is a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making.
For instructions on how to play films on student pcs, please see this document for details.
The definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
Please note that BFI Screenonline is only for educational purposes and for use within the UK.
Independent local radio programme sharing archive
The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme shared drama, documentaries, features and current affairs between Independent Local Radio stations struggling to meet their commitments for speech radio. It was operated by the Association of Independent Radio Companies [AIRC] from 1983 until it was ended by the 1990 Broadcasting Act.
Scran is a charitable online learning service with over 370,000 images and media from museums, galleries, and archives. Its charitable purpose is "the advancement of education by enabling public access to Scottish cultural resources and related material.
Teachers TV (Education in Video)
Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) is an online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK. VADS is run by the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
- a choice of images from the collections of Edinburgh City Libraries and Information Services
- Thousands of images from museums and galleries around the world. All images on this site are copyright protected and displayed for reference only. Images may be printed out for reference using Lightboxes.
- 90,000 historic clips online from one of the oldest media companies in the world
Films from the Home Front
- a collection of unique moving images illustrating what life was like for ordinary people in Britain during the Second World War, as seen through amateur documentaries, newsreels, government films, and home movies.
Scottish Screen Archive
- The Scottish Screen Archive is Scotland's national moving images collection. It preserves over 100 years of Scottish history on film and video.
TRILT provides listings for more than 300 TV and radio channels with data from 1995 onwards. Autoalert emails can be set up for forthcoming programmes matching your searches. Advance listings are available at least 10 days before transmission. Part of the BUFVC website.
British Standards Online
British Standards Online, is the most current site for all BSI publications. Updated daily, the site includes over 38,500 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International standards.
From around April 2021, you will need to download software in order to download British Standards PDFs. Please see below for separate advice for staff and students.
Students: for how to download British Standards PDFs, see STUDENTS: Downloading British Standards PDFs for details.
Staff members: for how to download British Standards PDFs, see STAFF: Downloading British Standards PDFs for details.
Specify-it (Technical Indexes)
Specify-it is a continually updated electronic collection of construction components and equipment information for construction industry professionals, delivered via the Internet, covering UK suppliers and overseas suppliers with recognised UK agents.
Construction Information Service
The RIBA.ti Construction Information Service is produced for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry.
Convention papers and conference proceedings of the the Audio Engineering Society.