The best way to find journal articles is to try keyword searching in LibrarySearch using the All items option. However, you may also want to try searching directly in some of the databases that contribute to LibrarySearch. Here's a list of the best ones for the subject area.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books, together with indexing for more than 780 journals, magazines and trade publications, and over 230 books. The database also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and a collection of over 63,000 images. Subjects include antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
EBSCO’s privacy policy
This database covers research in all academic disciplines, combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
Gale’s privacy policy
Comprises full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Now part of the Engineering Index.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
The complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling the location of images by garment type, designer and brand names.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Free online journals
Film-Philosophy - "Film-Philosophy is an open access peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy. The journal is interested in the ways in which films develop and contribute to philosophical discussion. We particularly welcome articles that set up an active engagement between film studies and philosophy, thereby sustaining a thoughtful re-evaluation of key aspects of each discipline.."
Jump Cut: a review of contemporary media - Classic essays from earlier issues available online.
p.o.v. filmtidsskrift: a Danish journal of film studies - Film journal published at Aarhus University, ceased publication 2009.
Scope: an online journal of film studies - "Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham.....Scope provides a forum for discussion of all aspects of film history, theory and criticism." 1999-2014
Screening the Past - "an international, refereed, electronic journal of visual media and history". With a searchable archive of full-text articles.
Senses of Cinema - "an online film journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema". There is an excellent searchable archive of full-text articles.
Film Studies for Free - Online Film and Media Studies Journals - "A-Z list of links to online, Open Access, English-language Film-Studies related e-journals and other relevant scholarly, periodical websites with at least some OA content". No recent updates, but still useful.
Many of our journals are now online, but you'll find these in the rolling shelving at either end of the lower floor of the Main Stock collection.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for 19th – 20th century history. Complete pages of every issue from 1785 until 2008 are included.
Cengage’s privacy policy
British Standards Online, is the most current site for all BSI publications. Updated daily, the site includes over 38,500 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International standards.
To download British Standards PDFs you need to use the FileOpen plug-in.
Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.
The first time you access Passport, you will be asked to register.
Euromonitor’s privacy policy
TRILT provides listings for more than 300 TV and radio channels with data from 1995 onwards. Autoalert emails can be set up for forthcoming programmes matching your searches. Advance listings are available at least 10 days before transmission. Part of the BUFVC website.
Learning on Screen’s privacy policy
IMDb - the Internet Movie Database - Recommended movie database with information on more than 200,000 titles.
CinemaSpot - "CinemaSpot.com is a free information resource center that simplifies the search for top movie-related resources on the Web." Reviews, film history, industry information, articles, events.
The Internet Movie Script Database - hundreds of film scripts for reading and downloading.
Film & TV history
British Fim Institute - Information on the Institute's activities, forthcoming events, advice on film funding. Access to the BFI Film and TV database, and BFI Screenonline
Silent Era - "A collection of news and information pertaining to silent era films." The Film List section is particularly useful as the index entries for each film include references to books and articles.
National Media Museum - Information about the museum and lots of links to interesting websites
EU Screen : EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
LikeTelevision - The Broadband Media Network - a US-based service which delivers video applications over the internet. Their web site contains thousands of video clips from television shows, which may be accessed and used for personal or educational purposes. Categories are Classic TV, Cartoons, Movies, History, Toys, Time Machine.
Film studies for free - "A pluralist, pro bono, and purely positive web-archive of examples of, links to, and comment on, online,Open Access, film and moving image studies resources of note".l.
Photography
Luminous-Lint Photography: history, evolution and analysis - "Luminous-Lint has been constructed collaboratively over the last decade to share information on the history of photography worldwide. Over 2,500 people, estates and institutions have provided information - with hundreds of continually-improving histories of photography it is unique in the arts."
Luminous landscape - a rich mine of essays, articles, techniques, tutorials on photographic tecniques.
British Institute of Professional Photography Information about the Society, and how to qualify for membership, and a careers guide to working in the photographic industry.
British Journal of Photography "Online version of the world's oldest photography magazine"
Fotophile.com Online magazine, including a large collection of links, searchable geographically, or by broad categories, such as photojournalism, nature, black & white. Only drawback is that there are a lot of broken links.
Documentary Photography: Jacob Riis A Multimedia CAL Program To Teach The Analysis Of Documentary Photography This program and its contents, including textual and image based materials, may be used for educational purposes only: education, private study or research.
History of Photography, by Robert Leggat Actually more of a searchable internet encyclopaedia of the history of photography
The Daguerreian Society Everything you could possibly want to know about the daguerreotype, with lots of images
Autograph Website of the Association of Black Photographers. Includes profiles of artists and examples of their work.
Eastman Museum Pay a virtual visit to the museum through their online gallery of images
UCR / California Museum of Photography "UCR / CMP is vitally concerned with the intersection of photography, new imaging media and society". Lots of images of recent work, but also historic collections of stereographs, cameras, and images by over 1000 photographers. Click on the Collections tab.
Film & TV Industry
European Audiovisual Observatory - The European Audiovisual Observatory is a "focal point for business information on the audiovisual sector in Europe." Information and data on economic, legal and financial matters concerning the film industry, television, video and the new media in 33 European member States and within the European Union. Some industry reports can be read online free of charge.
Creative Scotland - "Creative Scotland is the national leader for Scotland's arts, screen and creative industries". Information about Scotland as a film location, schemes for encouraging new work, and links to other sites
Creative Edinburgh - "one-stop shop for all of Edinburgh's creative and cultural industries". Connect to available support, programmed events, business-to-business networks, skills development and investment opportunities.
International Moving Image Society - formerly BKSTS: The British Kinematograph Sound and Television Society - "to encourage, sustain, educate, train and represent all those who are involved creatively or technologically in the business of providing moving images and associated crafts in any form and through any media". While the site is primarily for members of the society, it also includes careers information and related web links.
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences - the official Oscars site, and all about the Academy as well.
BAFTA Guru - Masterclasses, lectures and much more from experts in their fields.
Creative Skillset Creative Skillset helps the Creative Industries to develop the skills and talent they need to remain world-class. Jobs, new business help etc.
Study skills for film students
University of Toronto: Advice on Academic Writing - essay writing, critical reading, note taking, internet research, plagiarism, style and grammar and much more
Purdue Online Writing Lab - The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. It doesn't specifically cover writing for film, photography or TV, but other arts subjects are covered.
Film and education
British Universities Film & Video Council - this site covers educational use of film and video in all academic subject areas, and is a good source of information on research collections and educational broadcast productions. Includes the catalogue of the British Universities Newsreels Project.
What's on in Edinburgh
Edinburgh Film Guide - Lists films currently showing at all the city cinemas.
Edinburgh Filmhouse - Details of the current month's programme, and forthcoming events
Key reference books
These can all be found in Merchiston Library: look them up in LibrarySearch.
Dictionary of film terms
Encyclopedia of the documentary film
Guardian international film guide
Kemps : film, television & commercials production services handbook
Encyclopedia of European cinema
Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema
Encyclopedia of nineteenth-century photography
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography
The Focal encyclopedia of photography : digital imaging, theory and applications, history, and science
DVDs
You will find a range of titles relating to film & photography in the classification ranges 770-779 and 791-792.
DVDs can be found at the very end of the books upstairs in the library.
Moonstone Collection of Filmscripts
These are now shelved in the main stock with other film books at Merchiston Library.
Box of Broadcasts - a fantastic database of video material for teaching and learning - and you get to add to it if you want!
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is an innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. It contains over a million items, including an archive of all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007.
BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any scheduled broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. You can also edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into Moodle, share items via social media and generate reference citations.
Please note that our BoB licence is for educational purposes only, and only for use within the UK.
BUFVC’s privacy policy
You can find more information about using BoB on our TV for learning webpage.
Merchiston library has a large collection of DVDs and some videos which can be borrowed for 7 days. This includes many feature films - find items using LibrarySearch.
Since 2014 we have been continuing to record extensively from terrestrial TV channels, and the recordings can now be found on the University's Online Video Server.
To see the videos it is essential to log in:
You will see a large range of categories, including cinema, marketing, biological sciences etc. Choose a title from any of these categories and click on it to start the programme.
You can access the online video service on- or off-campus.
Please note that recordings are made under licence from the Educational Recording Agency (ERA+) for educational purposes only.
In addition here is a list of other specialist databases you can explore:
The definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
Please note that BFI Screenonline is only for educational purposes and for use within the UK.
BFI's privacy policy
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) is an online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK. VADS is run by the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
Freely available.
University for the Creative Arts' privacy policy
Scran is a charitable online learning service with over 370,000 images and media from museums, galleries, and archives. Its charitable purpose is "the advancement of education by enabling public access to Scottish cultural resources and related material.
SCRAN’s privacy policy
The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme shared drama, documentaries, features and current affairs between Independent Local Radio stations struggling to meet their commitments for speech radio. It was operated by the Association of Independent Radio Companies [AIRC] from 1983 until it was ended by the 1990 Broadcasting Act.
Learning on Screen’s privacy policy
Films from the Home Front- a collection of unique moving images illustrating what life was like for ordinary people in Britain during the Second World War, as seen through amateur documentaries, newsreels, government films, and home movies.
Capital Collections- a choice of images from the collections of Edinburgh City Libraries and Information Services
National Library of Scotland Moving Image Archive - formerly the Scottish Screen Archive, this is Scotland's national moving images collection. It preserves over 100 years of Scottish history on film and video. 1,700 films and clips online.
British Pathé - 90,000 historic clips online from one of the oldest media companies in the world
Bridgeman Images Thousands of images from museums and galleries around the world. All images on this site are copyright protected and displayed for reference only. Images may be printed out for reference using Lightboxes.
Scholars' Resource - Images for the teaching of art history and related subjects. Thumbnail images can be viewed on the site for many artists.
