Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Box of Broadcasts
Box of Broadcasts - a fantastic database of video material for teaching and learning - and you get to add to it if you want!
Box of Broadcasts IMPORTANT: How to access your saved programmes
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is an innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. It contains over a million items, including an archive of all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007.
BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any scheduled broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. You can also edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into Moodle, share items via social media and generate reference citations.
Please note that our BoB licence is for educational purposes only, and only for use within the UK.
Windows 7 users, please note that Internet Explorer is no longer supported.
You can find more information about using BoB on our TV for learning webpage.
More sources of film, images and sound
DVDs and recordings from television
Merchiston library has a large collection of DVDs and some videos which can be borrowed for 7 days. This includes many feature films - find items using LibrarySearch.
Since 2014 we have been continuing to record extensively from terrestrial TV channels, and the recordings can now be found on the University's Online Video Server: - http://onlinevideo.napier.ac.uk
To see the videos it is essential to log in:
- Log in using the button on the top right-hand side (your standard University log-in details)
- Click on TV Recordings (on the top left-hand side)
You will see a large range of categories, including cinema, marketing, biological sciences etc. Choose a title from any of these categories and click on it to start the programme.
You can access the online video service on- or off-campus.
Please note that recordings are made under licence from the Educational Recording Agency (ERA+) for educational purposes only.
The definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
Please note that BFI Screenonline is only for educational purposes and for use within the UK.
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) is an online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK. VADS is run by the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
Scran is a charitable online learning service with over 370,000 images and media from museums, galleries, and archives. Its charitable purpose is "the advancement of education by enabling public access to Scottish cultural resources and related material.
Arts on Film Archive
Arts on Film Archive offers online access to a large range of films on art produced in the UK since the 1950s, and is a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making.
For instructions on how to play films on student pcs, please see this document for details.
British Library Sounds
The British Library's Archival Sound Recordings website gives UK Higher and Further Education staff and students free access to over 12,000 recordings in a variety of subjects.
Independent local radio programme sharing archive
The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme shared drama, documentaries, features and current affairs between Independent Local Radio stations struggling to meet their commitments for speech radio. It was operated by the Association of Independent Radio Companies [AIRC] from 1983 until it was ended by the 1990 Broadcasting Act.
- Films from the Home Front- a collection of unique moving images illustrating what life was like for ordinary people in Britain during the Second World War, as seen through amateur documentaries, newsreels, government films, and home movies.
- Capital Collections- a choice of images from the collections of Edinburgh City Libraries and Information Services
- National Library of Scotland Moving Image Archive - formerly the Scottish Screen Archive, this is Scotland's national moving images collection. It preserves over 100 years of Scottish history on film and video. 1,700 films and clips online.
- British Pathé - 90,000 historic clips online from one of the oldest media companies in the world
- Bridgeman Images Thousands of images from museums and galleries around the world. All images on this site are copyright protected and displayed for reference only. Images may be printed out for reference using Lightboxes.
- Scholars' Resource - Images for the teaching of art history and related subjects. Thumbnail images can be viewed on the site for many artists.