The best way to find journal articles is to try keyword searching in LibrarySearch, using the Everything tab. However, you may also want to try searching directly in some of the databases that contribute to LibrarySearch. Here's a list of the best ones for the subject area.
Over 40,000 premium & online news and business sources – expertly curated in one database.
Please note when searching that you may need to update the date filter from 'Previous 2 years' to 'All available dates' to find older material.
Lexis Nexis’ privacy policy
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting database covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. It provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Search SAGE journal articles.
Sage’s privacy policy
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management.
EBSCO’s privacy policy
This database covers research in all academic disciplines, combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
Gale’s privacy policy
Comprises full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Key reference books
This guide highlights some of the materials available in the the Reference Collection at Merchiston Campus Library and elsewhere. Search for the items in LibrarySearch to find the shelf location.
It also provides links to reference tools available via the Internet.
Dictionaries
Directories & yearbooks
Bibliographies
Encyclopaedias
The encyclopaedia highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Cengage's privacy policy
The digitized collection of more than 26,000 pamphlets from seven UK research libraries provides researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th-century Britain.
JSTOR’s privacy policy
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Periodicals Archive Online makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids. There is an option to register for a personal account in order to save favourites.
Adam Matthew Digital’s privacy policy
The complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling the location of images by garment type, designer and brand names.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Formerly knows as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, the database provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
The John Johnson Collection is a unique collection of printed ephemera scanned in color by ProQuest in partnership with the Bodleian Library, Oxford. The ProQuest digitized version is a selection from the full collection, drawn from five subject areas: crimes, murders, and executions; advertising; book trade; nineteenth-century entertainment; and popular prints. The John Johnson Collection is a great source for studying Britain's cultural, social, industrial, and technological heritage.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Early European Books draws together a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. It opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books.
ProQuest’s privacy policy
Box of Broadcasts - a fantastic database of video material for teaching and learning - and you get to add to it if you want!
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is an innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. It contains over a million items, including an archive of all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007.
BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any scheduled broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. You can also edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into Moodle, share items via social media and generate reference citations.
Please note that our BoB licence is for educational purposes only, and only for use within the UK.
BUFVC’s privacy policy
You can find more information about using BoB on our TV for learning webpage.
The definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
Please note that BFI Screenonline is only for educational purposes and for use within the UK.
BFI's privacy policy
The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme shared drama, documentaries, features and current affairs between Independent Local Radio stations struggling to meet their commitments for speech radio. It was operated by the Association of Independent Radio Companies [AIRC] from 1983 until it was ended by the 1990 Broadcasting Act.
Learning on Screen’s privacy policy
TRILT provides listings for more than 300 TV and radio channels with data from 1995 onwards. Autoalert emails can be set up for forthcoming programmes matching your searches. Advance listings are available at least 10 days before transmission. Part of the BUFVC website.
Learning on Screen’s privacy policy
Scran is a charitable online learning service with over 370,000 images and media from museums, galleries, and archives. Its charitable purpose is "the advancement of education by enabling public access to Scottish cultural resources and related material.
SCRAN’s privacy policy
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is an innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. It contains over a million items, including an archive of all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007.
BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any scheduled broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. You can also edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into Moodle, share items via social media and generate reference citations.
Please note that our BoB licence is for educational purposes only, and only for use within the UK.
BUFVC’s privacy policy
Our Libguide on News Sources and our webpage on Finding Newspapers give advice on how to find specific newspaper articles.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for 19th – 20th century history. Complete pages of every issue from 1785 until 2008 are included.
Cengage’s privacy policy
• Journalist's Toolbox - a resource presented by the Society of Professional Journalists
• Journalism.co.uk - Journalism.co.uk is aimed at print journalists writing for UK magazines or based in the UK, although broadcasters may find the news and other resources useful. Journalism UK is not exhaustive - only links to the most useful and up to date sites are included.
• Wikipedia - lists of newspapers links to thousands of newspapers, news services and campus newspapers worldwide, organised by country. Includes lists of UK national and regional papers.
• British media online- a wide ranging listing of online sources including New Scientist and Private Eye as well local and national newspapers.
• Media.info the British media information website. A media information website to help organise the world’s media outlets and industry news
• The New Media Association - "the voice of Britain's local media".
• Ofcom - Ofcom is the regulator for the UK communications industries, with responsibilities across television, radio, telecommunications and wireless communications services.
• WeMedia "We tell stories, host events, consult, create and explore how to be human in a world drowning in digital everything. We’re also an agency and consultancy"
• The Publishers Association
• Publishing Scotland
• Publishers' catalogues - a directory of 16,500+ publishers listed by topic, location, & type of material
• Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers
• Society of Authors
• SHARP (Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing)
