Finding Journal & Encyclopaedia Artices /
Sound images and video / Key resources in Merchiston Library /
Internet resources: a selection to explore /
Finding music in the library
The best way to find journal articles is to try keyword searching in LibrarySearch using the Everything tab. However, you may also want to try searching directly in some of the databases that contribute to LibrarySearch. Here's a list of the best ones for the subject area.
Specialised music indexes
We have non-current issue of these in print format, in Merchiston Library:
Other specialised music services exist, such as International Index to Music Periodicals. If you find you need access to these, or the current years of RILM or Music Index in the Honours years of your course, see the section on visiting other libraries.
Edinburgh Central Library in George IV Bridge has a large music section, and should be visited before you consider requesting access to other academic libraries. They may be able to search their music indexes for you if you ask at the service desk.
Edinburgh University Main Library, George Square, now incorporates the Reid Music Library collection: if you need to visit you should register first with Sconul Access to gain access. Staff, postgraduates and part-time students may be able to borrow some items, but please note that full-time Edinburgh Napier undergraduate students will not normally be allowed to borrow material from Edinburgh University Library unless you pay their external user fees.
Is music harder to find than other subjects? Well, yes, it can be, and here's why!
CDs otten contain works by more than one composer, but can only be shelved in one place. Music is international, and the same work can be equally well known by its title in several languages - e.g. The Marriage of Figaro / Le Nozze di Figaro / Die Hochzeit des Figaro. Sometimes you can find what you want just by going to the shelf, but often this is not enough.
The best way to find anything in the library is to use LibrarySearch
Arrangement of stock
Our music collection is arranged according to format:
Books, reference books, journals, videos and audiovisual kits are shelved alongside other subjects, but nearly everything to do with music will be found in the 780 range of classmark numbers.
The main exceptions are:
Law relating to music
Finding types of music
We have separate sections for Scores, Miniature Scores and Oversize Scores.
Miniature Scores are normally orchestral or choral works for study purposes, and will give you the complete work, with all the orchestral/choral parts. Some of them are surprisingly large!
Scores will generally be music that might be used for performance, so keyboard music, songs, music for one or two instruments and piano, vocal scores (no orchestral parts).
Oversize scores may be either!
We shelve our printed music and recordings in composer order, and then by the shelfmark, by popular request.
Each composer has been assigned a different number to make sure that their works stay together:
for example, Schubert is SCH50, while Schumann is SCH80.
Each composer is further subdivided using the Dewey Decimal numbers, so that Beethoven's piano music is kept separate from his symphonies, for example.
Any items that contain works by more than one composer will be found at the end of the section, using the number ZZZ50 to keep them together, and this section is also further subdivided by the Dewey Decimal classmarks.
So. if the catalogue tells you that the CD of a Beethoven symphony is at Compact Discs 784.2184 BEE50 -
look in the Compact Discs section for Beethoven first
then look for 784.2184 within Beethoven.
the same goes for scores
We still have a small amount of printed music that is not yet on the catalogue: these items come at the end of the scores section, arranged alphabetically by composer.
Key Reference Books
Music stock is held in Merchiston Campus Library - for location information can be found in LIbrarySearch.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The new Oxford companion to music : a good one-volume encyclopaedia of classical music.
The encyclopedia of popular music : In eight volumes
The Garland encyclopedia of world music - 10 volume set
The new Grove dictionary of jazz : In two volumes
Directories and yearbooks
British and International Music Yearbook
Contains contact addresses for Associations, Artists, Agents, Venues, Promoters, Competitions and Scholarships, Summer Schools, Study abroad, Music Festivals, Orchestras, Opera Companies, Recording and Broadcasting, Education, Marketing, Fund-raising, Publishers, Retailers, Insurance, Copyright, and various other relevant services.
Music Education Yearbook
Includes sections on Organisations, Resources for Teachers, Youth Performance, Examinations, Schools, Further and Higher Education, Teacher Training, International Study, Recreational and Part-time Courses, Jazz in Education, Suppliers and Services.
British Performing Arts Yearbook
Contains information on Companies and Artists in the areas of Dance, Drama, Community, Puppets, Mixed media/Entertainment, Opera, Orchestras, Jazz and Light Music, Arts Festivals, Suppliers and Services, Education, Organisations, Venues.
Music history & anthologies
Burkholder & Palisca - Norton anthology of Western music, 7th ed., 2014
Burkholder, Grout, Palisca - A History of Western Music, 9th ed., 2014
These two works are inter-related, and there is a collection of recordings on CD to accompany them under Norton recorded anthology of Western music, 2014.
The individual works included are not searchable in our catalogue under author or title, but we have included them in a contents list, which means they will be found by doing an All items search
We also have some older editions of each book and set of recordings, which may contain different examples of music.
We have a large collection of CDs and DVDs on musical subjects that can be borrowed or viewed in the Campus Library.
WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists - Site maintained by the American Musicological Society, with a huge and well-organised collection of links.
University Music Departments with good collections of links
International Music Score Library Project - "IMSLP attempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge". This is a US site, and copyright laws are different there - inclusion in this site is not a guarantee that the music is out of copyright in the UK - composers and named editors have copyright for life plus 70 years, and there is also 25 year copyright in the print layout of the edition.
Choral Public Domain Library - availalble via ChoralWiki - check that the music is also out of copyright in the UK.
Mutopia - a growing collection of free sheet music, either newly typeset editions of works by composers whose copyright has expired, or more recent works where the editor, arranger or composer has granted permission to download.
Zinfonia information direct from many of the world’s largest hire/rental and sale catalogues in one place.
Musicroom - the website of Music Sales Group, claims to be the world's largest online retailer of sheet music, tutor methods, instructional DVDs & videos, music software and instruments & accessories.
Sheet Music Plus A large US online sheet music store.
Sheet Music Warehouse "The Sheet Music Warehouse has tens of thousands of pieces of old, original and out of print sheetmusic" - based in the UK.
Score Exchange "Score Exchange is the largest online retailer of new sheet music from composers and arrangers all over the world. ScoreExchange.com offers thousands of sheet music scores for download for every instrumentation imaginable - from solo pieces to works for full orchestra, from classical to pop."
Guitarnotes - online shop of the Spanish Guitar Centre in Nottingham. " The Centre maintains one of the largest specialist selections of music for the classical guitar anywhere, with upwards of 10,000 titles in stock."
See also the Instruments and voices tab for other websites devoted to specific instruments or voices.
Boosey & Hawkes - The catalogue records include very useful scoring information
Breitkopf & Härtel - The website includes their complete catalogue, with prices in Euros
ChesterNovello - Part of the Music Sales Group of publishers. The records include orchestration and timings.
Dover Publications.com - Music Catalogues of Dover music books and scores, with prices.
Alphonse Leduc - Includes publications from Heugel and Hamelle as well. Searchable catalogue with prices in Euros. UMP are their UK distributor.
Hal Leonard online - Hal Leonard claimes to be the world's largest music print publisher - a good source for pop and rock as well as classical. They distribute music in the USA for other publishers, so their search facility includes the catalogs of G. Schirmer, Associated Music Publishers, Faber Music, Ricordi, Eschig, Salabert, Durand, Sikorski and others.
Peters Edition Ltd - Access to their full catalogue, also composer information.
Schott Musik International Includes brief biographies of Schott composers, and Schott printed music catalogue details with prices. Includes Eulenburg scores.
Stainer & Bell Access to their full catalogue, with price details, and composer information.
United Music Publishers Includes access to selections from their catalogue of British composers, with prices, and some links to French publishers, information on UMP composers.
UE - Universal Edition The site includes biographical details about UE composers, with lists of works and music clips.
NMA Online: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version - Mozart's works in miniature score form, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
Classical music scene
Computers and music
Keyboard: Online edition The magazine for music and computers. Selected articles from the magazine can be viewed online.
Sound on Sound Hi-tech music recording magazine website, with some feature articles available online. Links to music industry sites
Steinberg.net Website for Cubase products, including news, interviews, tips and tricks, user forums
Electronic Music Foundation "Electronic Music Foundation (EMF) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to increasing public understanding of the role that electronic music, in its myriad forms and technologies, plays in our world".
British Music Collection The British Music Collection is a remarkable resource consisting of scores and recordings from contemporary British composers. The majority of the collection dates from 1960 onwards, but it also encompasses material stretching back to 1900.
Cadenza "Provides classical music resources and information for and about contemporary and classical music and musicians". This site seems to be popular with composers, although its content is wider than just composition and new music. Includes a database of concert programme notes
Scottish Music Centre The Scottish Music Centre, (formerly SMIC) exists to document and promote Scottish music. At present the main focus is on contemporary classical music, but other types of music are increasingly represented. Includes information on composers, recordings, music for performance and a comprehensive concert diary.
Sound and Music Sound and Music is the national agency for new music. Our vision is to create a world where new music and sound prospers, transforming lives, challenging expectations and celebrating the work of its creators.
Solomon's Music Theory & Composition Resources There are some potentially useful resources here, especially for anyone interested in 12-tone compositions and Music from Numbers
General music resources
Pop, rock and film music