Skip to main content

Business School Library: Academic Journals

Academic Journals

Academic journal articles are great sources to use in your course work and dissertation.  Where a text book will give you a general overview of theory, journal articles build on this, sometimes focussing on specific parts and putting them into context, perhaps using a case study.  They debate topics and devlop academic arguments and can be seen as the "cutting edge" of the topic.

We have many databases that index and abstract and provide the full text of these types of articles.  Here is a list of those that are of most relevance to business subjects.

ABI/INFORMGlobal (aka Proquest) covers a wide subject area for business & management. Largely full text articles, with some abstracts.

Wiley Online Library is the online journal service formerly know as Blackwell Publishing, providing full-text access to around 655 journals in a wide range of subjects, including business. 

EBSCO Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection is a full-text database of over 500 journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Coverage is from 1965.  Very good for consumer behaviour

Expanded Academic Full text of e-journals. 

Greenleaf Online Library  The Greenleaf Online Library (GOL) contains more than 4000 individually searchable chapters, case studies and journal papers drawn from 280+ book and journal volumes, published by the leading independent sustainability publisher, Greenleaf Publishing. 

Taylor & Francis Online Selection of online academic journals from the publisher Taylor & Francis.

IngentaConnect Full text of electronic journals from leading publishers

Institute of Hospitality Access to the Institutes collection of e-books and e-journals

Nexis UK is the database formerly known as Lexis Nexis Business.  This is where to access newspapers from the UK and across the globe, as well as country information, company information, director information.  There is also a large selection of journals and trade magazines to search through too.  

Sage Journals Online Online journals from Sage Publishing

Science Direct Full text database with good business coverage

SpringerLink High quality academic journals from Springer Verlag.

Web of Science Citation database.  Excellent for research.

Index to Theses Abstracts of Phd & Masters theses from across the UK & Ireland

How to Search a Database

Here is a short film showing how to search for academic journals in the ABI/Inform database.  The theory is transferrable to most other databases, however not all databases offer the same advanced search choices.