Journals are academic publications on a specific topic e.g. Diabetes Nursing, Practising Midwife, or Journal of Intellectual Disabilities.
You're more likely to be looking for articles on a specific topic, so these come from a variety of journals.
The easiest way to search multiple journals together and find different articles on a particular topic is via:
LibrarySearch is our library catalogue and has access to a wide range of different resource types, including journal articles. There is both a basic and advanced search feature and you can tweak your search results to only show you journal articles. You can use LibrarySearch to either search for a specific journal article that you already have the details for, or to do a topic search. we have further guidance and support on using LibrarySearch to find journal articles.
Google Scholar is the academic section of Google. It indexes scholarly material on the internet, including books and journals, however some of the material it indexes is not good academic quality so you need to carefully evaluate the material you find on there.
Google Scholar can be useful to find open access* journal articles that are not indexed in LibrarySearch as not every open access journal or article is indexed in our catalogue.
You can also link your Google Scholar results to the full text ejournals we have at Edinburgh Napier University to give you access to subscription sources via Google Scholar more easily. Our Google Scholar guide will show you how.
(*Open Access means that some research such as journal articles are freely available online to anyone, without financial, legal, or technical barriers. Look for this symbol 
and you don't need to add your ENU username and password to access the fulltext of the article.)
The links below are to journal publisher platforms where we have access to some of our journal subscriptions. As well as searching in databases it also a good idea to check here as we sometimes subscribe to journals directly as not all journals are indexed in databases.
We do not always have access to all the content on these platforms, just select titles, so you will not get full-text access to everything. Sometimes the platform will allow you to narrow your search results to only content available to Napier staff and students.
Medical Journals published by the BMJ Publishing Group. Please note that Edinburgh Napier University does not have full access to all titles. See also the separate entry for the BMJ website.
The BMJ’s privacy policy
The BMJ publishes original scientific studies, review and educational articles, and papers commenting on the clinical, scientific, social, political, and economic factors affecting health.
Freely available.
The BMJ’s privacy policy
Cambridge Core is a platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content bringing together books and journals.
Cambridge University Press’ privacy policy
Edinburgh Napier has some current subscriptions to Emerald journal titles, but does not have up-to-date access to the majority.
Subject coverage spans management disciplines including: strategy, leadership, library and information management, marketing, and human resource management together with a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
Emerald’s privacy policy
Search journals published by Oxford University Press. Access to subscribed content only.
Oxford University Press’ privacy policy
RCNi is the premier provider of innovative and creative information solutions for the whole nursing team and associated health professionals. They produce 11 journals, including Nursing Standard, to provide health professionals with the latest developments impacting nursing, including changes in policy, practice and research. Each of the journals provides authoritative coverage of its specialist fields, including peer-reviewed clinical content and continuing professional development (CPD) articles.
RCN’s privacy policy
Search SAGE journal articles.
Sage’s privacy policy
Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink) provides full-text access to over 500 journals published by Springer. Subject coverage includes science, technology and medicine.
Springer’s privacy policy
Journals published by Taylor & Francis.
Taylor & Francis’ privacy policy
Wiley journals cover a wide range of subject areas: life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
Wiley’s privacy policy
It can be difficult to work out if you're looking at a webpage or journal article online. Look at the screen carefully to see if any of the following helps you work out if it's an online journal article:
1. The word article might be in the URL.
2. The title of the journal should be on the screen with volume and/or part numbers.
3. It might say article above the title of the article.
4. It should have a DOI.
What's a DOI? Each online journal article has been given it's own unique permalink (permanent URL) which is known as a digital object identfier or DOI. e.g. https://doi-org.napier.idm.oclc.org/10.1111/jan.16098 or https://doi-org.napier.idm.oclc.org/10.1002/gps.5251. This means that the links won't break to these articles so they are easily retrieved and accessed.