If you're a new student we recommend you work through the Introduction to Computing and Library Moodle module. It's available 24/7 throughout the year and you can access it as many times as you like. You can also find links to lots of useful information on the myNapier Getting Started page including answers to general library questions.
This LibGuide highlights a small selection of the library resources available to you. To find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, articles and much more, use LibrarySearch.
Ebooks: There are thousands of online books available through LibrarySearch. To use an ebook, select Available online. If you're asked to log in, use the university username and password that you use for Moodle or email.
You can read some ebooks online or possibly download them. Some ebooks let you print and save a limited number of pages. This is limited by copyright and licence restrictions. There's more information on the myNapier Ebooks page.
Books: You can find books using LibrarySearch and request them. Books on similar topics might not be shelved beside each other so it's quicker to use LibrarySearch than walk around the book shelves in the library.
Can't find the book you want? To find out what options are available to you, go to the myNapier Find the book page. Remember to sign in to LibrarySearch on and off campus to see all results. If you need facts or figures, reference books like encyclopaedias and price books will help you but remember that reference books can't be requested or borrowed.
The library buys access to a wide range of good quality databases, journals and other resources for university staff and students to use. They contain information about journal articles and other content like conference proceedings and videos. You can usually read articles online or download them from databases, Some databases are subject specific but larger ones can cover a wide range of topics.
LibrarySearch contains details of everything on library shelves and online. It searches across databases is the best way to find articles and reports.
You can also search databases individually and this can be very useful for dissertation students, postgraduates and researchers. When you're signed in to LibrarySearch, use the Databases tab to find a specific database or select a subject to see relevant databases. For each database you'll see more information and access details.
Sign in to LibrarySearch on and off campus to see full results for your searches, access the resources and the correct login advice.
Online resources might ask you to sign in when you're on or off campus to prove you're a member of Edinburgh Napier. For most databases and journals, it's the same username and password that you use to login to Edinburgh Napier computers, email or Moodle.
When you're using a database, look for the Edinburgh Napier University name or logo somewhere on the page. If you don't see this, you're probably not signed in.
A few databases use a different username and password and these are on the database and e-journal password list.