Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Built Environment, Computing and Engineering: Getting Started

Library Subject Guide for students in the School of Computing/School of Engineering & the Built Environment.

Getting started

If you're a new student we strongly recommend you watch the IT and Library induction Moodle module. Access the induction and find links to lots of useful information on the myNapier Getting Started page - this is the first place you should go for answers to general library questions.

The induction module is available 24/7 throughout the year and you can access it as many times as you like. 

This LibGuide can only highlight a small selection of the library resources available to you. To find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, articles and much more, use LibrarySearch.

Passwords

Edinburgh Napier library buys access to high quality databases, e-journals and e-books for university staff and students.
Use LibrarySearch to find all items the library has access to. Please remember to log into LibrarySearch on and off campus to see ALL results. If you are not logged in, you will not see everything we have access to.


Databases & e-journals may ask you to login when you are on or off campus to prove you are a member of Edinburgh Napier. For direct access to the correct login pages & login advice, access databases and e-journals from LibrarySearch. When you are using a database, look for the name or logo of Edinburgh Napier University, usually at the top of the screen. If you don't see this, it's very likely that you are not logged in and therefore you will not get access to resources.
 
To login to most databases and e-journals use the same username and password you use to login to Edinburgh Napier computers, email and myNapier. 

A very small number of databases may need you to use a separate username and password - you can get more information from our database and e-journals password list.

Books and ebooks

Ebooks: Thousands of our books are available online and you can find these on and off campus using LibrarySearch. To access an ebook, click on  "Full text online" or "Online access". If you're asked to log in, use your university username and password (that you use to log into Moodle etc).

Often, ebooks allow printing and saving, but be aware that copyright / licence restrictions may limit the amount you can print or download - see our myNapier Ebooks page for further details.

Books: You can also use LibrarySearch to find books and request them. Books on similar topics may not be shelved together so it's quicker to use LibrarySearch rather than walk around the shelves.

Watch our help videos to see how to use LibrarySearch. Can't find the book you need? Our top tips can help you find out what options are available. Remember to sign in to LibrarySearch on and off campus to see all results.If you need facts or figures then reference books (encyclopaedias, price books etc) will help you but remember that reference books can't be requested or borrowed.
 

Databases, journals and articles

The library provides access to a wide range of databases. Databases contain journals. Journals contain articles and reports.
Some databases are subject specific but some larger databases can cover many different topics. These databases contain thousands of online journals for you to search and read.

LibrarySearch searches across databases and is the best way to find articles and reports. 

You can also search databases individually. This can be particularly useful for dissertation students, postgraduates and researchers. From the LibrarySearch homepage, click on 'Databases' at the top of the screen.

You can search by database name, or choose a subject from the drop down list  (e.g. Computing, Engineering or Built Environment and Transport).Under each database you will see more information about the database and access details.

Referencing

We know students have lots of questions about referencing. You should use the specific guidelines for your School - links to School guides and other information.