Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome - Library guide for the School of Health and Social Care (SHSC)
Welcome to this subject guide for students and staff from the School of Health and Social Care.
Your clinical skills as a health and social care practitioner are grounded in evidence based practice. This LibGuide will direct you to the most useful search tools for finding research based literature/evidence, academic sources. grey literature, and reliable health statistics, and show you how to get the best out of these tools for your studies and professional practice.
As your Subject Librarian I can support you with:
Finding and accessing books, journal articles, and other sources
Using online databases and search engines
Effective search strategies and techniques
Reference management tools and software
Top 5 Databases
These are just a few of the databases and search locations you should be using to search for evidence. The Journals and Databases tab details a fuller list of relevant resources.
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL with Full Text is a comprehensive research database and source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MA Healthcare Complete MA Healthcare Complete includes the UK's widest range of clinical nursing journals as well as leading titles in midwifery, dental nursing, pre-hospital care and veterinary practice.
MEDLINE MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine in the USA, provides access to bibliographic citations to biomedical journal articles,and to additional life sciences journals. MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed.
Web of Science The Web of Science Service for UK Education provides a single route to all the Clarivate Analytics products subscribed to by your institution. Connect to the Web of Science Service, search using the 'All Database search' or select an individual product from the drop down list.
Library & Searching Skills Support Sessions
Come along to a Library event or workshop to help you improve your academic and study skills. Check the calendar to see what’s on and book your place by filtering down the category to undergraduates, postgraduates, or staff.
Need help with academic writing skills and critiquing ?
Have a look at the Academic Skills pages on myNapier. There are online resources to help you develop your writing skills and they also offer bookable online Webex one to one sessions.
Subject Librarian - Health and Social Care