You can search across many of these resources using LibrarySearch, or find more focused results by searching within a particular database. The databases listed below are some of the key databases for the built environment subject area.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books, together with indexing for more than 780 journals, magazines and trade publications, and over 230 books. The database also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and a collection of over 63,000 images. Subjects include antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
EBSCO’s privacy policy
The ICE Virtual Library hosts content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE).
ICE Virtual Library’s privacy policy
Lexis+ (formerly known as Lexis Library) is a legal database. Resources include legislation, case reports, journal articles and commentary including the full text of The Stair Memorial Encyclopedia, Scottish Criminal Case Reports, Scottish Civil Law Reports, All England Law Reports, The New Law Journal, Family Law (journal).
Lexis Nexis’ privacy policy
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Elsevier’s privacy policy
Specify-it is a continually updated electronic collection of construction components and equipment information for construction industry professionals, delivered via the Internet, covering UK suppliers and overseas suppliers with recognised UK agents. Specify it includes content previously known as Engineer it.
Access note: First select Knowledge Workspace. Then change the search option from All KW Content to Specify-It.
Accuris’ privacy policy
Westlaw is a gateway containing a large and growing number of databases, which can be searched separately or together. Examples include the UK case locator, UK legislation, Legal Journals index, UK current awareness and EU materials (e.g. cases, legislation, journals, current awareness). Full text law reports and journals (primarily Sweet & Maxwell titles) can be accessed together with much full text material from the rest of the world, especially the USA, Canada and Australia.
When you reach the Westlaw website, you may be blocked by a message asking you to set up a personal account. If you do not want to give your personal details, you can fill the boxes in as follows: First name: xxxxxx Surname: xxxxxxx Email: xxxxxxxxxxx@yahoo.co.uk
Thomson Reuters' privacy policy
You can search across many of these resources using LibrarySearch, or find more focused results by searching within a particular database. The databases listed below are some of the key databases.
British Standards Online, is the most current site for all BSI publications. Updated daily, the site includes over 38,500 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International standards.
To download British Standards PDFs you need to use the FileOpen plug-in.
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
IEEE’s privacy policy
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Elsevier’s privacy policy
SpringerLink provides full-text access to over 500 journals published by Springer. Subject coverage includes science, technology and medicine.
Springer’s privacy policy
British Standards Online contains current, draft and historic British Standards as well as BSI adoptions of European standards which have the prefix BS EN, and selected international standards.
You can also find the complete set of Eurocodes in this database. Add the full name to the search box e.g. Eurocode 5, to retrieve all parts, or go to the British Standards search page to find Eurocodes and their corresponding BS EN numbers.
British Standards Online, is the most current site for all BSI publications. Updated daily, the site includes over 38,500 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International standards.
To download British Standards PDFs you need to use the FileOpen plug-in.
The RIBA.ti Construction Information Service is produced for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry.
Accuris’ privacy policy
The ICE Virtual Library hosts content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE).
ICE Virtual Library’s privacy policy
Are you looking for Scottish Building Standards? Go to the Scottish Government Building Standards website to access what you need.
These are a few of the new books recently purchased by the library. Go to LibrarySearch, sign in and see the full range of resources available to students and staff at the university.
Data-Driven Science and Engineering by 
Research Methods for Construction by 
