Edinburgh Napier University Library Services subscribe to and use a number of third party products and websites to deliver services and access to resources to students and staff of the university. In the following tabs you can find third party accessibility statements from suppliers who provide us with access to online resources. These include e-books, journals, databases, and other tools/platforms such as our reading list system and reference management software.
There may be some platforms and products that are not as accessible as others, and in most cases the information provided should make any potential web accessibility issues clear. The information we have available for some suppliers and platforms is quite minimal or non-existent, so we have noted where this is the case. We work with suppliers wherever possible to encourage the improvement of web accessibility and the availability of improved web accessibility statements.
Some suppliers have a VPAT (Voluntary Product Accessibility Template) which explains how suppliers meet the accessibility standards of Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act (U.S.), however please be aware that there are no measurable criteria to meet these standards equivalent to the WCAG criteria we use in the UK.
Platform |
Products |
Web Accessibility Statements |
Notes/Comments |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACM Digital Library | ACM Digital Library, ACM Books | Accessibility statement for ACM Web | |
| ACS (Chemistry for life) | American Chemical Society Journals | ||
| Adam Matthew Digital | Migration to New Worlds | Accessibility statement for White Label collections | |
| AES (Audio engineering society) | AES E-Library | ||
| American Society of Mechanical Engineers | ASME Digital Collection Conference Proceedings | Accessibility statement for ASME | |
| BFI (British Film Institute) | BFI Player | Accessibility statement for BFI Player | |
| Bloomsbury | Drama Online, Bloomsbury Design Library | ||
| BMJ | BMJ Journals, BMJ website | Accessibility statement for BMJ website and products | |
| Brill | Brill | Accessibility statement for Brill platforms | |
| British Library | British Library Public Catalogue, British Library Sounds, EThOS | Accessibility statement for the British Library websites | |
| (BSI) British Standards Institute | British Standards Online | Accessibility statement for BSI websites | |
| Bureau Van Dijk | FAME | VPAT for Orbis/FAME (Word document) | |
| CABI | CABI Tourism Cases | Accessibility statement for CABI website | |
| Cambridge University Press | Cambridge Core, Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Books Online | Accessibility statement for Cambridge Core | |
| Clarivate | BIOSIS,Emerging Sources Citation Index, Essential science indicators, Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, Arts & Humanities Citation Index | Link to VPAT statements on Clarivate webpage | |
| Creative Scotland | Scotland on Screen | Accessibility statement for Scotland on Screen | |
| DOAB | DOAB Directory of Open Access Books | Accessibility statement for DOAB | |
| DOAJ | Directory of Open Access Journals | Accessibility statement for DOAJ |
| Platform | Products | Web Accessibility Statements | Notes/Comments |
|---|---|---|---|
| EBSCO | APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, Art & Architecture Complete, British Education Index CAB Abstracts, CINAHL with Full Text, eBook Collection, ERIC, GreenFILE, Library, Information Science, and technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection, SPORTDiscus |
Accessibility statement for EBSCO EBSCO eBook Accessibility User Guide and FAQs
|
|
| Edinburgh University Press | Edinburgh University Press Journals | Accessibility statement for EUP Journals Online | |
| Elsevier | ClinicalKey Student Midwifery, Knovel Complete Academic, ScienceDirect,Reference Collection in Biomedical Sciences |
ScienceDirect Accessibility Features | |
| Emerald | Emerald Journals | Accessibility statement for Emerald | |
| ERA | BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource | Accessibility statement for ERA | |
| Euromonitor International | Passport GMID | ||
| Gale | Gale Academic OneFile Select, International encyclopedia of the social sciences, Gale Ebooks, Times Digital Archive | Link to all VPATS for Gale products on Gale website | |
| HathiTrust | HathiTrust Digital Library | Accessibility statement for HathiTrust | |
| HeinOnline | HeinOnline Academic Core UK | Accessibility statement for HeinOnline.org | |
| IBISWorld | IBISWorld | IBISWorld Accessibility Conformance Report | |
| ICE Publishing | ICE Virtual Library | Accessibility statement for ICE Virtual Library | |
| IEEE Explore | IEEE Xplore, IEEE Electronic Library Journals, Conference Proceedings, Standards | Accessibility statement for IEEE Xplore | |
| IGI Global | IGI Global eBook Collection | IGI Global Web Content Accessibility Guidelines | |
| IHS Markit | Info4education, Construction Information Service, Engineer-it, Environmental Management, Occupational Health and Safety (TI), SCI Blue Book, Specify It (Technical Indexes) | ||
| Ingenta | Ingenta Connect Open Access Journals | VPAT for Ingenta (Word document) | |
| Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) | IET Digital Library | Accessibility statement for the IET Digital Library | |
| Intellectual Property Office | Ipsum: Online Patent Information and Document Inspection Service | Accessibility statement for the Intellectual Property Office | |
| Ithaka | JSTOR | Accessibility statement for JSTOR | |
| JISC | JISC Library Hub Discover | ||
| Learning on Screen | Box of Broadcasts, Independent local radio programme sharing archive, TRILT | Accessibility statement for Learning on Screen | |
| Kortext | Kortext | Accessibility statement for Kortext |
| Platform | Products | Web Accessibility Statements | Notes/Comments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lexis Nexis | Lexis Library, Nexis Uni | ||
| Liverpool University Press | Writers and Their Work | Accessibility statement for Writers and Their Work | |
| Mark Allen Group | MA Healthcare Complete | Accessibility statement for MAG Online Library | |
| Mergent Online | Mergent Online | VPAT for Mergent Online (Word document) | |
| Merck and Co | MSD (Merck) Manual | Accessibility statement for MSD Manuals | |
| Naxos Digital Services | Naxos Music Library | Accessibility statement for Naxos Music Library | |
| National Library of Medicine | PubMed | Accessibility statement for PubMed | |
| O'Reilly Media | Safari Books |
VPAT for O'Reilly Android 2.4 2021 (PDF) |
|
| Open Humanities Press | Open Humanities Press Books | ||
| Oxford University Press | Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Journals, Oxford Music Online/Grove Music, Oxford Research Encyclopedias, Oxford Medicine Online |
Accessibility statement for Oxford Academic |
|
| Oxford Reference | Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Reference Library | Accessibility statement for Oxford Reference | |
| PEDro Partnership | PEDro | Accessibility statement for PEDro | |
| Primal Pictures | Anatomy & Physiology Online | Accessibility statement for Informa | |
| Project MUSE | Project MUSE | Accessibility statement for Project MUSE | |
| Proquest | ABI/Inform Collection, Australian Education Index, British Periodicals, Coronavirus Research Database, Early Modern Books, Ebook Central, John Johnson Collection, Literature Online, Periodicals Archive Online, PTSDpubs, Publicly Available Content Database, SciTech Premium Collection, Social Science Premium Collection, The Vogue Archive | Accessibility statement for Proquest | |
| PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service) | ACD/I-Lab, Available Chemicals Directory (ACD), Cambridge structural database, CrystalWorks, DETHERM, SPRESIweb |
| Platform | Products | Web Accessibility Statements | Notes/Comments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rice University | OpenStax College | Accessibility statement for OpenStax | |
| Rittenhouse Book Distributors | R2 Digital Library | VPAT for R2 Digital Library (Word document) | |
| RCNI | RCNi Journals | Accessibility statement for RCNi | |
| RIBA | Architectural Publications Index | ||
| SAGE Publications | SAGE Journals, SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Research Methods, Learning Matters |
Accessibility statement for SAGE Journals Online |
|
| Scran | Accessibility statement for Scran | ||
| SCIE Social Care Institute for Excellence | Social Care Online | Accessibility statement for Social Care Online | |
| Springer Nature | Biomed Central, New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online, Springer eBooks, OAPEN Free, Springer Link, Palgrave Macmillan, Macmillan Education, Springer Protocols | ||
| Taylor & Francis Group | Taylor & Francis ebooks, Taylor & Francis online, Research into Higher Education Abstracts, Routledge | Accessibility statement for Taylor & Francis | |
| Times Higher Education (THE) | Times Higher Education (THE) magazine | Accessibility statement for Times Higher Education (THE) | |
| Thomas Reuters | Practical Law, Westlaw | ||
| The University of Edinburgh | Digimap | Accessibility statement for the Digimap website | |
| The University of Queensland | Global Policing Database | ||
| University for the Creative Arts | VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) | Accessibility statement for UCA.ac.uk | |
| Vision of Britain | Vision of Britain Through Time | Accessibility statement for a Vision of Britain Through Time | |
| VLeBook | VLeBooks | Accessibility statement for VLeBooks | |
| Walter de Gruyter GmbH | de Gruyter eBooks | Accessibility statement for De Gruyter | |
| Wiley | Archive British Assoc for Advancement of Science, Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, Cochrane Library, Royal Marsden Hospital Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures, Wiley Online | Accessibility statement for Wiley Online Library | |
| Wolters Kluwer | LWW Health Library Occupational Therapy Collection, Ovid Emcare, Ovid Nursing, Books@Ovid, OVid Transport | Accessibility statement for Ovid LWW |
Platform |
Products |
Web Accessibilty Statements |
Notes/Comments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ex Libris | Leganto, Alma, Primo (LibrarySearch) |
Accessibility information for Leganto |
|
| Clarivate | EndNote | VPAT for Endnote | |
| Elsevier | Mendeley | Accessibility information for Mendeley | |
| Corporation for Digital Scholarship | Zotero | ||
| Springshare | LibGuides, LibCal | Accessibility statement for Springshare | |
| Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) | CLA digitised readings, Digital Content Store | ||
| WordPress | Library and Open Access Blogs | Accessibility information for WordPress | |
| Twitter Inc. | Accessibility information for Twitter | ||
| Meta | Accessibility information for Instagram | ||
| Joubel | H5P | Content Type Accessibility for H5P | |
| Articulate Global | Articulate Storyline | ||
| Worktribe | Repository | Accessibility statement for Napier's worktribe | |
| JISC | Digital Discovery Tool, Sherpa Services |
Accessibility statement for digitalcapability.jisc.ac.uk and the discovery tool |
|
| Omeka | Content management system for Mayhew Collection | ||
| AtoM | Content management system for Jim Haynes Collection |