Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of these items are not actually newspaper databases, or they may contain other material as well, but they can all be useful in finding historical evidence.
JSTOR 19th Century Pamphlets
The digitized collection of more than 26,000 pamphlets from seven UK research libraries provides researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th-century Britain.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Migration to New Worlds
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids.
The complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling the location of images by garment type, designer and brand names.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1901-2005, is a detailed primary source for 20th century Britain and the wider world. The papers are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
John Johnson Collection
The John Johnson Collection is the product of a unique partnership between the Bodleian Library and ProQuest to conserve, catalogue and digitise more than 65,000 items drawn from the Bodleian's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera. It is widely recognised as one of the most important collections of printed ephemera in the world.
Please log in as follows: Further and higher education users - Login through your library or institution - Select your region - United Kingdom - Select Edinburgh Napier.
Times Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for 19th – 20th century history. Complete pages of every issue from 1785 until 2008 are included.
Scotsman Digital Archive - you can access this online if you register as a member of the National Library of Scotland, or Edinburgh City Libraries.