Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Images, sound and video: Sound and video

A guide to available resources and advice for images, sound and video resources at Edinburgh Napier University

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts  -  a fantastic database of video material for teaching and learning  -  and you get to add to it if you want!

                        Box of Broadcasts welcome image

You can find more information about using BoB on our TV for learning webpage.

BUFVC

Library resources for film and sound

Image of DVDs

DVDs and recordings from TV

​Merchiston library has a large collection of DVDs and some videos which can be borrowed for 7 days, renewable for up to a month.  This includes many feature films - find items using LibrarySearch.  The Collection is housed upstairs in Zone 5, at the very end of the Dewey classification sequence.  Other campuses also have DVDs, generally shelved with the books in the subject area.

Since 2014 we have been continuing to record extensively from terrestrial TV channels, and these recordings can now be found in the library catalogue.  It is also possible to search on the University's Online Video Server:   -   http://onlinevideo.napier.ac.uk

To see the list of TV Recordings here it is essential to log in:

  • Log in using the button on the top right-hand side (your standard University log-in details)

  • Click on TV Recordings (on the top left-hand side)

You will see a large range of categories, including cinema, marketing, biological sciences etc. Choose a title from any of these categories and click on it to start the programme.

You can access the online video service on- or off-campus.  

Please note that recordings are made under licence from the Educational Recording Agency (ERA+) for educational purposes only, and cannot be used overseas.

 

Image of CD  Image of CD  Image of CD

 

CDs in the Library

Merchiston library has a large collection of CDs, mainly classical music, but there is some relevant material for pop and jazz studies.   These items can be borrowed for 7 days renewable for up to a month.  You will find the collection on the end of the Rolling Shelves in Zone 5, at the right hand end of the lower floor.

Free sources of film and sound

  • Films from the Home Front- a collection of unique moving images illustrating what life was like for ordinary people in Britain during the Second World War, as seen through amateur documentaries, newsreels, government films, and home movies.

  • National Library of Scotland Moving Image Archive -  formerly the Scottish Screen Archive, this is Scotland's national moving images collection. It preserves over 100 years of Scottish history on film and video. 1,700 films and clips online.

  • British Pathé - 90,000 historic clips online from one of the oldest media companies in the world

  • National Film Preservation Foundation Preserved Films - More than 2000 film treasures from American film archives, and links to similar projects in the Netherlands, Australia and New Zealand.

  • British Council Film Collection - 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played. 

Key Collections of Film & Sound

These databases have generally been designed for academic use, and may be only available to universities, rather than the general public.