Skip to main content

The Big Read: About the Book

Learn more about "Detective McLevy's Casebook" and the #NapierBigRead

Cover Image of the book designed by Iain McIntosh

Detective McLevy’s Casebook contains 15 true crime short stories written by Edinburgh’s first real detective, James McLevy, based on his service years between 1830 and 1860.
The Conjuror
The Handcuffs
The Swan
The Pirates
The Look-Out
The Hay-Seeds
The Blood-Stained Moleskin
The Belfast Keys
The Ash-Backet
The Whisper
The Ingenuity of Thieves
The Orange Blossom
The Sea Captain
The Half-Crowns
The Society-Box



Meet the team responsible for putting Detective McLevy's Casebook together!

The cover was designed in collaboration with award-wining Scottish illustrator and designer of the No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency series Iain McIntosh. See images of the cover in progress here, and read an interview with Iain about his work here.