LibGuides: Arts & Creative Industries Subject Guide: Making an Impact and Assessing the Competition

Making an Impact and Assessing the Competition

Impact Factors and Bibliometrics: how to assess the impact of your publications

Please note: some of these resources talk about tools such as Scopus, which Edinburgh Napier University does not have access to.

Tutorials and summaries

includes explanations of Citation Indexes, Impact Factors and the various metrics in general use.

Research Impact and Metrics - pages created by Maynooth University Library in Ireland covering a broad range of topics

an 8 minute video from PHD Comics that introduces the concepts of open access and compares with traditional journals publishing models.

Tools

SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)

this service uses data from SCOPUS to perform a complex algorithm based on Google PageRanking to determine the "average prestige per paper" of a journal
coverage of Creative Industries is the best I have seen so far
please note that none of these services are perfect tools - various factors in the underlying data can cause bias in the analysis.

this service uses data from Web of Science to perform a complex algorithm based on Google PageRanking to "estimate the percentage of time that library users spend with that journal"
coverage of arts & humanities is limited at present
please note that none of these services are perfect tools - various factors in the underlying data can cause bias in the analysis.

a software program designed to help individual academics to present their case for research impact to best advantage.
it uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents a variety of statistics.
they do warn that it is not a perfect tool - a poor result might be due to working in an obscure subject, writing in a languge other than English, or publishing mainly in books.

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports® is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows journals to be evaluated and compared using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports show the most frequently cited journals in a field; the highest impact journals in a field; the largest journals in a field.
Clarivate Analytics’ privacy policy
Web of Science
The Web of Science Service for UK Education provides a single route to all the Clarivate Analytics products subscribed to by your institution. Connect to the Web of Science Service, search using the 'All Database search' or select an individual product from the drop down list.
Clarivate Analytics’ privacy policy

the records in the Web of Science database section include lists of references cited in the article.
the database allows you to find all articles that cite a particular published work, and perform statistical comparisons of academic output.
searches can be limited to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Science Citation Index, or any combination of these.
off-campus access requires your Edinburgh Napier network login details