Skip to main content

Built Environment, Computing and Engineering: Library FAQ

Library Subject Guide for students in the School of Computing/School of Engineering & the Built Environment.

Library FAQs

                                                         

Question:

Bibliography: How do I create a bibliography?

 
Answer:

A bibliography is just a lits of items that you have consulted when writing your piece of work.

Each school has their own guidelines for referencing.

 

Question:

Books: How do I find a book in the library?

 
Answer:

Search for books using the LibrarySearch. This lists the books in all Edinburgh Napier libraries.

For further information on using the Library catalogue see our helpsheets:

LibrarySearch : basic guide

 

Question:

Borrowing: How long can I borrow a book for?

 
Answer:

Most books can be borrowed for 7 days, and sometimes very popular books may be restricted to a 3 hour loan. Books for wider reading will be for 28 days. The loan period will be clearly marked on the side of the book.

 
Question:

British Standards: Where can I find a specific standard?

 
Answer:

British Standards Online is available through LibrarySearch.

Click on the Databases tab and type British Standards Online. When it appears in the list click on the title to go to the website. If not already logged into an eresource you will be asked to log in.

 


 

 

 

Question:

Copyright: Can I copy an article for my assignment?

 
Answer:

These pages will introduce and give you information on copyright for study and research purposes.

 
Question:

Ebooks: What is the best way to access ebooks?

 
Answer:

The best way to search for ebooks is within the standard LibrarySearch. We currently stock ebooks from eight different suppliers. See our ebooks page for more information.

Question:

Essays: Where can I get extra help in writing essays?

 
Answer:

We have a wide range of help sheets available for study skills. Here you will find information on effective reading, research and writing methods. In addition, we have a number of advisers available who offer one-to-one support in various academic skills including maths, engineering and English for academic purposes. See our study skills help page for details.

Question:

Google Scholar: Can I use Google Scholar to search for articles?

 
Answer:

There is an enormous amount of academic information available on the internet. However, it is not always easy to find exactly the information you need for your study or research.

Most of the journals purchased by the library are available online, but note that many of these will not be found by using Google or other search engines - you will need to go through a subscription database or LibrarySearch, and click on e-Journals.  Type in the name of the journal to see if access is possible via a different route.

Remember when you are searching that anyone can publish information on the web and there is often very little quality control.

For more help with using Google Scholar with Library resources, see Google Scholar.

Question:

Internet resources: How do I evaluate information resources on the internet?

 
Answer:

It is always important to evaluate the information resources you use, but it is especially important if you have found the information on the internet. Anyone can put information on the web, for a number of reasons including selling products or promoting their own ideas, so you need to remain aware of your sources at all times.

Useful guidelines can be found here.

 
Question:

Internet searching: Should I search for articles on the internet?

 
Answer:

There is an enormous amount of academic information available on the internet. However, it is not always easy to find exactly the information you need for your study or research.

Most of the journals purchased by the library are available online, but note that many of these will not be found by using Google or other search engines - you will need to go through a subscription database or LibrarySearch, and click on the e-Journals option at the top. Type in the name of the journal to see if access is possible via a different route.

Remember when you are searching that anyone can publish information on the web and there is often very little quality control.

Question:

Journals: How do I know if a journal is available online?

 
Answer:

If you only want to find electronic journals, use the e-Journals option at the top of LibrarySearch.

However, journals can be in paper or electronic format. We may hold the earlier years of some titles in paper format, and the later years in electronic format. Some journals may only be available in paper format, some may only be available electronically.

LibrarySearch can search for both paper and electronic journals. This will provide information on the years/issues available and access details.

Further help can be found here.

 

 
Question:

Journals: What are journals?

 
Answer:

This page will explain what journals are how they can be of use.

Question:

Librarian: How do I find out who my librarian is?

 
Answer:

You can find a list of librarians and their subject specialisms on this web page.

 
Question:

LibrarySearch : How do I log on to LibrarySearch ?

 
Answer:

If you log on to the LibrarySearch, you can check your library record, request and renew items.

This help sheet will tell you how to do this.

Question:

Mobile searching: Can I access LibrarySearch from my mobile phone?

 
Answer:

Yes. Go to this page and scan the QR code to go to the Information Services mobile app.

Question:

Newspapers: Which newspapers does the Library stock?

 
Answer:

The Library subscribes to a range of hard-copy newspapers, with a few titles at each site. However, we also have electronic access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. See help with searching.

Question:

Off campus user: I am studying at a distance, how can the Library help me?

 
Answer:

If you are in the UK, there are a number of Library services which you can access without visiting our libraries.
If you are studying overseas you can find help here.

 
Question:

Opening hours: Until what time is the library open?

 
Answer:
 
Question:

Other libraries: Can I borrow books from other academic libraries?

 
Answer:

If you are a full-time postgraduate, part-time, distant or placement student, you may borrow some materials from other university libraries. Reference access is also available for undergraduate full-time students. To do this, please visit the SCONUL Access website and fill out the online application form there. For more details on this and other libraries access, see other libraries.

Question:

Passwords: How do I access databases and e-journals?

 
Answer:

Edinburgh Napier library service buys access to good quality databases and e-journals for university staff and students.

When you are on campus, many databases recognise this and so they do not need you to login.

However, a very small number of databases will need you to login even when you are on campus.

Most databases will need you to login when you are off campus.

To be taken directly to the correct login pages, access databases from LibrarySearch.

To log into most databases you will use the same username and password you use to log into Edinburgh Napier computers, email and student portal.

Our access and passwords page gives you more help.

A very small number of databases may need you to use a seperate username and password - you can get more information from our database and e-journals password list (login required off campus).

 
Question:

Presentation: I have to give a presentation and don't know where to start.

 
Answer:

Want to learn more about giving a presentation at University? See Presentation Skills for advice on planning, preparation and delivery.

Question:

Referencing: Where can I find information on referencing?

 
Answer:

New guidelines have been published on referencing which all students are expected to use. If you are in any doubt as to which guidelines to use, please ask your module leader.

 
Question:

Renew books: how do I renew items on my Library account?

 
Answer:

This link will show you how to renew items online, by telephone or in person.

 

 
Question:

Requesting a book: how do I request a book from the library?

 
Answer:

You can place a request on books, journals and DVDs on the Library catalogue and collect them from any of our campuses. We will send you an email when your item is ready for collection and hold it for you for seven days. Items with a one-day loan status will be held for one day.

Loading