Skip to main content

Built Environment, Computing and Engineering: Researchers

Library Subject Guide for students in the School of Computing/School of Engineering & the Built Environment.

Finding Information

I would be pleased to show you the resources we available - including LibrarySearch, individual databases (such as Sage Research Methods), and the Edinburgh Napier Research Repository. Please email me to make an appointment.

Do you need books not currently held by our library? Please email me with details of the book. Depending on availability, cost and wider use, I may be able to buy books for your research. If not, I can help you to find the books at other local libraries, or help you to use the inter-library loan service. 

Listed below are some of the main tools and services to aid research. You will also find further information via the library's general post-graduate research pages or staff research pages.  

Thinking about REF2020? Thinking about publishing? Check out our Open Access blog - lots of advice & support, including a really useful decision tree and checklists.

We also have a very useful guide called Measure your research performance. From the more traditional metrics to altmetrics, this guide will help you to understand the basics.

Reviewing the literature in your subject

Web of Science 

  • Multidisciplinary - not full text but you may be able to link to some full text using ViewIT.
  • Off campus access requires your Edinburgh Napier network login details.
  • Includes Conference Proceedings Citation Index - indexes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields.

COPAC

  • Copac National, Academic, and Specialist Library Catalogue
  • Access to the merged online catalogues of many major libraries in the UK and Ireland including the British Library
  • Scottish contributors are currently Edinburgh University, National Library of Scotland, Aberdeen University, St.Andrews University, Glasgow University

WorldCat

  • WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Also available on your mobile - find in a library near you.

Managing your references

 Endnote / EndnoteWeb -  is a software tool that can help you carry out the following tasks:

  • Import references from online databases
  • Manually add and organise your references in your own ‘library’ databases
  • Insert citations into a Word document as you write
  • Create bibliographies in a variety of bibliographic styles
  • EndNote is available via the university network for Edinburgh Napier University staff and students to use when working on campus.
  • EndNote Web, the online version, allows users to manage their references and create bibliographies off-campus. It is more suited to the needs of undergraduate students than the full desktop version, although postgraduate students researchers and staff may wish to use it for reference collection in EndNote format, when they are not at their own desk. 

Further information about registering and getting started with EndNote and EndNote Web can be found on our helpsheets page.

Making an impact and assessing the competition

 Publish or Perish

  • A software program designed to help individual academics to present their case for research impact to best advantage.
  • It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents a variety of statistics.
  • They do warn that it is not a perfect tool - a poor result might be due to working in an obscure subject, writing in a languge other than English, or publishing mainly in books.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

  • Commonly used for measuring journal impact factors,  is now part of an expanded bibliometrics platform from Thomson Reuter's called InCites.  Edinburgh Napier users can access JCR as follows:
    • Go to the Web of Science link below, login if required 
    • Click 'Journal Citation Reports' at the top of any WoS page
    • Training is available for JCR on InCites
    • The original JCR interface is also available

Web of Science 

  • The citation databases contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
  • Off-campus access requires your Edinburgh Napier network login details.
  • Includes Conference Proceedings Citation Index - indexes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines.

Contents pages and alerts

Keep up to date with your favourite journals.
journalTOCs

  • Search for thousands Journal TOC - Table of Contents RSS feeds by Title, Subject or Publisher
  • journalTOCs is easy to use, and it's free.
  • Find 24,706 scholarly journal Table of Contents (TOCs) from 2278 publishers.
  • Export TOC feeds to popular feedreaders.

Zetoc

  • Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 29,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings published per year.
  • The database covers 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.
  • It includes an email alerting service, and RSS feeds.
  • Off-campus access requires your university network login

Who are the key researchers? What has already been done?

EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service

  • This service from the British Library aims to offer a 'single point of access' where researchers can access ALL theses produced by UK Higher Education.
  • Download digital and digitised theses is free to the researcher. A small number of participating institutions may not be able to offer Open Access and in this case the researcher may have to pay for the digitisation.
  • Where a thesis must be digitised before supply, you can expect a short delay. However, you will be informed when the thesis is ready for collection and you can then log on to the system and download it.
  • EThOS can only offer the theses of participating institutions.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses (previously Index to Theses)

•List of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.
•Notes if the thesis is available electronically, e.g. from an institutional repository. The university in question may also participate in EThOS (see above) - if not, it may be possible to obtain the thesis via Document Supply, or by visiting the library that holds it.

Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) - Tracks the growth of existing open-access archives

UK Active Map of Universities and HE Institutions
 •A clickable map of all UK HE institutions (created by the University of Wolverhampton).

Database links on this page

New books for research